6 Steps to Morning Success

Drew Torres
10 min readMar 13, 2021

--

My Daily Morning Routine

Photo by Aziz Acharki/Unsplash

“If you win the morning, you win the day.”- Tim Ferriss

Introduction:

Time flies, and once it’s gone, you cannot get it back. All we have is the present moment. One day more equals one day less. Therefore, it is essential to make the most of each day.

Many things in life are not fair. But one thing that is fair for everyone is we all get 24 hours in a day. What we do with those 24 hours determines the effectiveness of that day.

Tim Ferriss wrote a book called Tools of Titans. The book is a compilation of notes from his popular podcast “The Tim Ferriss Show.” His podcast deconstructs world-class performers to find tools, tactics, and tricks that listeners can use. One of the commonalities of the interviewees is a morning routine.

“In the morning and elsewhere, the more constraints I can create where I fly on autopilot and get a result I need or enjoy, the more horsepower, the more calories I have to allocate to being creative, and to do things where thinking should actually be applied.”- Tim Ferriss

Benjamin Hardy is also a proponent of a morning routine, and he says:

“The core purpose of having a morning routine is to put yourself into a peak state in the morning-so you can then operate from that state for the rest of your day.”- Benjamin Hardy

My routine consists of 6 actions. I prefer to wake up early, so I have enough time to complete my action items. Early morning is also beneficial because it will be quiet, peaceful, and with fewer distractions.

But sleep is also essential, and I have made it a priority to get 7–8 hours of sleep per night. So, I will go to bed early so I can wake up early.

“Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.”- Benjamin Franklin

I have developed six habits that form my morning routine after learning and experimenting with successful individuals.

Step #1: Drink 20 ounces of water

“You want to super-hydrate your body first thing in the morning to re-energize your brain and body. Hydration is essential to a fully functioning brain. Also, the water will wake you up quickly and make you more alert and ready to get moving.”- Benjamin Hardy

What:

The first thing I do upon waking is drinking a large glass of water. The reason this is a priority is I am so dehydrated in the mornings. In the evening, I try not to drink anything after 7 pm. So if I wake up at 5 am, that will have been 10 hours since I last drank anything. So, I attempt to hyper-hydrate by drinking 20 ounces of water.

Most days, I will put salt and fresh-squeezed lemon or lime into the water. If I am fasting, then it will be strictly filtered water.

Why:

Combining lemon or lime juice with salt will help you absorb the foods that you eat.

“You are not what you eat but what you absorb.”- Charles Poliquin

If you eat a chicken breast that says 25 grams of protein on the nutritional label, it does not mean you absorb all 25 grams. The combination of water, salt, and fresh-squeezed lemon or lime help with the digestion and absorption of foods you eat.

Salt and lemon or lime also help with adrenal function and detoxification pathways. But, I do not use table salt as it offers zero mineral value. I like to use Himalayan salt or Celtic salt because of their rich mineral content and electrolytes.

Lemon or lime is high in vitamin C and supports glutathione production, which helps with liver detoxification. It’s essential to use fresh limes and not the bottled version, which lacks nutrients. Lastly, I do not drink tap water and instead use filtered water. The tap water has pollutants and chemicals that are unhealthy.

If I’m fasting, I will drink the water without lemon or salt. I will fast at least one day per week and a maximum of 3 days per week.

Step #2: Meditate

Photo by Damir Spanic/Unsplash

“More than 80% of the interviewees have some form of daily mindfulness or meditation practice.”- Tim Ferriss speaking on the high performing guests he has interviewed

What:

Success leaves clues. When I read the above quote by Tim Ferriss in his book Tools of Titans, I decided to give meditation a try.

There are many different ways to practice meditation. My practice involves focusing on the breath and sensations in my body. Towards the end, I will wish for two people to be happy, then a minimum of 3 things I’m grateful for, and finally, I end with prayer. The meditation usually takes 12–15 minutes total.

Why:

When I finish with meditation, I feel calmer, happier, and more focused. Meditation also helps with lowered stress and anxiety, improved sleep, enhanced creativity, and more awareness. It helps me to become more present and quiets the monkey mind. It may also raise anabolic hormones.

Research shows regular meditation is a natural way to raise levels of testosterone, growth hormone, and DHEA a hormone profile that researchers associate with better health and improved body composition and muscularity. Greater releases of anabolic hormones can also accelerate recovery from training or injury by stimulating tissue repair and eradicating inflammation- Charles Poliquin

Sometimes I will meditate a second time during lunch. I like to do this outside in the sun to get vitamin D. I also want to be barefoot with my feet on the grass. Grounding or earthing involves walking, laying, or sitting barefoot.

According to Science Direct, “Earthing connects people to the Earth’s natural healing energy. Bodily contact with the Earth’s natural eclectic charge stabilizes physiology. Numerous studies show earthing reduces inflammation, pain, stress, improves blood flow, energy, sleep, and generates greater well-being.”

Step #3: Journal

Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado/Unsplash

What:

A year and a half ago, I read a book called “Artist’s Way.” It is a 12- week course, and there are numerous exercises to perform each week.

But there are two main exercises to continue utilizing after finishing the book. Those include journaling three pages every day and giving yourself what’s known as an “Artist Date.” The artist’s date is taking time out of each week for 2 – 3 hours at a time and spending it by yourself doing things you enjoy.

Why:

Daily journaling has helped with my creativity and also my writing skills. I recently noticed my writing improved, so I calculated three written pages per day times 365 days a year, which equals 1,095 pages. It made me realize that a bit of journaling each day equals a lot over a year.

It also helps get things off my mind and clears it up so I can think more clearly.

Whenever I am confused about what to do, I start writing, and then I begin to see clearly or find solutions to specific problems. Sometimes I will learn something exciting, and then I will write about a particular topic, enabling me to learn and absorb it better.

It is also fantastic to go back and look at previous years or days. For example, two years ago, my wife and I decided to get raw ribeye’s from Kinder’s, which she then cooked, and it turned out delicious. Just like what you would get at a restaurant, if not better. So we wanted to do it again a year later but could not remember exactly how she cooked it. So I went to my journal and looked it up, and we were able to re-create the delicious meal.

I also like to write down funny things that my kids said or something that happened to them. Then I can go back and re-live those moments. It is easy to forget certain moments, but now I can go back through my journal and read about funny things in the past or significant accomplishments. My kids also enjoy looking back at funny moments that involved them through the years.

Step #4: Read

Photo by Cody Board/Unsplash

What:

I have always loved to read and have found that the best time for me to do so is right after journaling. Before my kids wake up, it is quiet, and I can read uninterrupted. My reading usually lasts 30–45 minutes during this time. However, I continue to read other periods of the day when I can. But this uninterrupted reading adds up. Thirty minutes multiplied by 365 days equals 10,950 minutes of reading in a year.

Why:

My primary purpose for daily reading is because I love to learn. I want to be a lifelong learner. I read books based on my interests. Then I attempt to apply what I have learned. Reading provides knowledge, but it does not mean much unless that knowledge is applied.

I think the key is to read what you love. And if you begin to read something that becomes boring, skip ahead or quit the book and find a new one to read. In the past, I felt obligated to finish a book even though I may not have enjoyed it. Now, I quit a book if necessary and find a new one to begin. Life is too short to read an uninteresting book or blog. So, if this blog post is boring you right now, quit and find something else to read. It won’t hurt my feelings.

I look at reading as an exercise for my brain. I read, think, reflect and take notes. I also love to collect quotes. I keep a separate journal only for notes and quotes or ideas I may want to use or think on. When I write, it helps me to learn and remember more effectively.

I also re-read the great books I have read in the past.

“I would rather read the best 100 books over and over again until I absorb them rather than read all the books.”- Naval Ravikant

Step #5: Take a cold shower

“All the problems I have in the daily world subside when I do cold exposure. Exposing myself to the worthy cold…it is a great purifying force.”- Wim Hof

What:

I will take a 2–5 minute cold shower every morning. I began doing this when I read the following passage in Tools of Titans by Tim Ferriss:

“Wim Hof, surfing king Laird Hamilton, and Tony Robbins all use cold exposure as a tool. It can improve immune function, increase fat loss, and dramatically elevate mood.”- Tim Ferriss in Tools of Titans

Why:

Each day I want to do something where I become uncomfortable. One of my sayings I like to apply is to “embrace discomfort.” Taking a cold shower is one of my ways to get out of my comfort zone first thing in the morning.

Other benefits of cold showers are speeding up your metabolism, reduces inflammation, improved sleep, strengthening your willpower, increased alertness, and enhanced immune response.

I am a believer in cold showers because of how much better I feel after taking one. It energizes me, wakes me up, helps me think more clearly, and increases happiness. I am attempting to become comfortable with discomfort, which I believe will make me mentally stronger.

“After a cold shower in the morning you feel much more centered during the rest of your day. Try it out and see what it does for you.”- Wim Hof

Step #6: Exercise

Photo by Sam Moqadam/Unsplash

“The right training program can help prevent the most dangerous diseases, extend lifespan, boost your mood, and improve your brain function.”- Charles Poliquin

What:

I try to get some form of exercise every day. 4–5 days will be intense or moderately intense, while the other 2–3 days will be a lighter form of exercise.

Why:

According to legendary strength coach Charles Poliquin, “Exercise is medicine” and has the following benefits:

“Strengthens all the tissues in the body, avoids metabolic diseases, helps prevent injury and pain, improves brain function and learning, prevents memory loss, extends lifespan, improves sleep and reduces stress, enhances mood and reduces the risk of depression, improves heart function and lowers blood pressure, enhances coordination and reaction time, optimizes reproductive health and libido.”

Exercise doesn’t need to be complicated and does not need to take long. You can get a productive workout in 10–15 minutes. Even without knowing the benefits of exercise, I would continue to do it simply because of how much better I feel afterward. It makes me happier and more energetic, and also pleasant to be around.

Each day revolves around my workout. I will rotate my workouts in periods of 2–4 weeks to keep from getting stale, which keeps my motivation high.

I also add proper recovery during my workout phases. It is not wise to set personal records each time or train to fail each workout. An innovative training program finds the sweet spot between hard work, intelligent work, and rejuvenating recovery periods.

With the numerous benefits, it is a no-brainer to add exercise to a daily routine. Just like with cold showers, I feel better. It puts me in a better mood and gives me a natural high from the endorphins.

Conclusion

Those are my six steps to morning success. I don’t always follow that order or include all 6 in each day. But even if I can do 3 out of 6, it will help put me in an optimal state to attack the day, be productive, and become my best self.

“Borrow liberally, combine uniquely, and create your own bespoke blueprint.”- Tim Ferriss

--

--

Drew Torres

PE teacher and former Varsity Boys Basketball Coach at Freedom High School. Founder of Revision Training. www.revisiontraining.com